Reposting Comment from Talking Violin’s Post: “Celebrities: ‘That ain’t gonna happen!”

I highly recommend Talking Violin. It’s hard to describe the appeal but his voice (all of his posts, I believe, are verbal with accompanying photos) is definitely in the realm of “storyteller.” Sometimes, I’m not sure if he’s joking or reporting seriously. In either case, I enjoy his blog thoroughly!

The following is reposted from my comment to Talking Violin about his audio post concerning a Brazilian law that does not allow “unauthorized biographies” of celebrities. (Disclaimer: Includes additional material since I felt it inappropriate to crowd his whole “Comments” section with my super-sized verbosity.)

“I’ve listened to several of your posts this morning. You make everything sound intriguing… This story is definitely unusual to U.S. mores (or lack thereof) but there are other countries I know of where “tell-all” books are not allowed, whether legally or culturally. When you think about it, we are all telling our own little stories about ourselves, leaving some items out either for later disclosure or keeping them hidden forever. We tell ourselves the stories, too, then one day, “poof!” just like celebrities, it comes out.

“For me, the funny part (cosmic joke!) is that my writing is very revealing; I can’t hold back. Poetry may give me an edge by use of metaphor or allegory, but… no one is fooled. However, since I love writing so much, and I love sharing my writing (including a manuscript about to be dusted off and revised), I just “pretend” to myself that it’s all normal, that no one will really say anything anyway. Something to think about when sharing with family, friends, strangers… still, the writing dictates to me, and I cannot turn away from the page. It’s a bit disconcerting when contemplating a new relationship (as I am currently doing): How to introduce my strangeness, my foibles, mood swings, epiphanies? Guess I’ll just tell him (if we get that far) to read my blog!

“Of course, so far, celebrity has not been an issue for me! But I do feel a sense of empathy. Just because a person has a moment – a day – a year – of irrationality, that doesn’t mean he/she IS that story, either. We are not our stories. We are divine beings having interesting, amazing, intriguing experiences with bodies, emotions, pain, love, opinions – all of it. And our “personalities,” just like our bodies, our life circumstances, our loves – change, evolving constantly. People cling to identities and project the future based on that identity, as if they are exempt from change, age, or dis-ease (or recovery from dis-ease); from unhealthy lifestyle to athlete, or the reverse!

“Here is one very small example of unexpected change: My eye color has changed from blue to hazel-green. I could purchase colored lenses. But I won’t! Would you?”

Well… would you?

Leave a Reply

