Viva La Muerte – The Poet Returns!

This poem is inspired by the movie, “The Matador’s Mistress.”

Viva La Muerte

Will you love me today
Tomorrow 
Forever? Will you love me
More than life?
I see the shadows in your eyes when we make love
I feel the darkness of death so close to your breath
And I wonder, who will I be when
You are you no more? 
Will I be your mistress 
When you are more than wine and bread
More than the blood-stained sword of death?

When you look up from our bed
What do you see? It is not a ceiling
Or a sky; not a heaven bound with angels
It is the darkness, La Grande Muerte,
Filled with the craving of the gods 
For you
Their stars live for you my beloved
They wait for you, for the tears in your eyes
To take you to the place where all is night
Where all is peace
And your dream of release arrives…

When I eat of your bread
And drink of your wine – Will you 
Love me more than that? 

 

 

(c) Lady Diane Randall 2011-2013

2 thoughts on “Viva La Muerte – The Poet Returns!

Leave a Reply

