AISHITERU (I Love You)

Dear Lovers of Poetry & Life,

I intend to include a brief story on most of the poems I have written or will write. The story for Aishiteru: In Japan, most singles, young & adult, will “confess” their love or liking for each other by saying “daisuki” or simply “suki” (pronounced sski). This can also be used between friends or certainly family. Aishiteru, however, means I Love You, in completely blissful romantic terms, or the quiet strength of true devotion to another. This poem came to mind while remembering a Japanese drama (like a mini-series) wherein the young man walks slowly toward the young woman, speaking over her words (protestations?), repeating “aishiteru” three times.  It was beautiful…

AISHITERU

I love you
I love you
I love you

Pray I can write it enough
to speak it into being

Pray I can pray enough
to breathe you into being

I love you
I love you
I love you

Pray for a Love so strong and real
fears and lies cannot distort

or make my heart, my hands, my soul
ache and beg to be forgiven

for things I’ve never even done
for things I’ve yet to consider

I love you
I love you
I love you

Pray I can pray enough
for you to hear my heart

in your dreams
in your dreams
i
n your dreams

                                                                                    Lady Diane Randall

One thought on “AISHITERU (I Love You)

Leave a Reply

